Painting on Ceramics with Paper Cut Design Stencils

http://www.favecraftsblog.com/finished-on-the-fifteenth-favecrafts-blog-hop-for-february.

One of my favorite ways to design is to start out with a simple paper cut. I use black construction paper and an Exacto Knife and just start cutting. Sometimes I sketch out the image first in white pencil, but often I start out with just cutting out the negative space. Here are some samples of some simple paper cut designs.

I scan the paper cuts into the computer and develop them into colorful designs with the help of Adobe Illustrator.

Then I use the paper cuts to develop simple stencils that define the negative space on my ceramic collections.

The best thing about using paper cuts, is they make a simple elegant, graphic image that is easy to work with and manipulate in different mediums.

2 thoughts on “Painting on Ceramics with Paper Cut Design Stencils

Leave a Reply

